On 15th August 2022, the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Chairman Wafula Chebukati declared Hon. William Ruto as the President-elect. This declaration was immediately disputed by four IEBC Commissioners and Hon. Ruto’s main challenger, Hon. Raila Odinga. Under Kenya’s Constitution, any disputes arising out of presidential elections can only be resolved by the Supreme Court of Kenya. Legally, aggrieved parties only have 7 days from the date of declaration to petition the Supreme Court.